NYFW 02.15.12

Suzanne Rae

Milly

Farah Angsana

Nomia

Today was one crazy day! It was show after show after show as soon as I ran out of Lincoln Center station.

As soon as I got in line for the Suzanne Rae show, my camera started to malfunction and couldn’t focus or take pictures! D: Luckily, my iPhone has great quality photos so I still got to document a few looks before I had to run off. Although I was only able to spend fifteen minutes or so at the show (to run to the next), the way the show was laid out as a mini-runway + presentation . This collection was definitely different than the others that I saw where grays played a really heavy presence along with more neutrals such as muted pinks and butter creams. A lot of the clothes were flowy and sheer, just as we’ve all seen with other designers.

The next show was definitely a show I could not have missed, Milly! For those of you who don’t know, a lot of Blair’s clothes from the earlier seasons of Gossip Girl were by Milly. The colors, the prints, and the dresses and skirts! La-la-looooove! I know that this is a pretty narrow mindset but when I watch a show, I look for practicality to see if I would ever where anything from a simple skirt to a full out red carpet dress (because that’s realistic, right? haha). Milly’s show had so many pieces that I could see walk down the street and turn people’s heads.

After Milly, I went to the Farah Angsana show and my god, were her dresses BEAUUUUTIFUL. If I don’t see anyone on the red carpet with one of these dresses, I might flip out. She started the show with an Asian model (I had to get excited about that 😀 ) incredible black dress with shiny bead work and a huge graceful train. I definitely heard people “oo” and “ah” as soon as this dress came out and it put the bar high for the rest of the show. Farah did NOT let the audiences down. Beadwork continued to play a huge role in this show along with the credible bright color palette. If you followed my tweets during the show, I had a huge conflict deciding which I loved more, the bright red or the bright blue.

Last show of the day was Nomia and although I didn’t understand the checking in system (because I had to wait an hour to check in and some more time just to get into the show… BUT I saw BILL CUNNINGHAM while I was waiting) it was a pretty cool show where the clothing were very structured and the colors weren’t as loud or prominent compared to the other designers. There were pops of olive green, a dark burgundy red, and little bits of cobalt blue. What intrigued me was the hair style of the models of a hair knot pony tail and where the ends were cut straight to compliment to structured clothing. So cool!

By the end of the day, I was so excited to change into flats and sit on the train back home but so sad that it was all ending until next season. It was fun to see people with such the passion for fashion and yet interpreted in different ways through their different styles. Some people I thought were soooooo chic and others, I had NO idea what they were thinking when they walked out in public. It was cool to overhear people’s conversations saying “Oh you know. The perks of working in the industry for X amount of years.” because they always stuck to it not matter how hard times got.

This past week has reassured to me that this is what I want to do with my life and that I will continue with it, no matter what it takes.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

